Day One by Elizabeth Miranda ’15

DSCN0612

We are finally in Cordoba! After anticipating this excursion for the last serval months I didn’’t know what to expect as I boarded the plane. After I took my seat I realized that I had forgotten all of my entertainment devices such as my iPod, movies, and books. I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason and luckily I was able to have meaningful conversations with the people sitting next to me because I wasn’’t distracted by technology.  On one side of me was a fellow student from St. Xavier University and on the other side was a woman who was from Valencia. At first I began to talk to Laura, the student from St. Xavier, and I realized that we have a lot in common. During my time on campus it has been difficult for me to mingle with people because of my busy schedule and it was refreshing to have a conversation with someone who has a similar worldview. My conversation with her set the tone for the rest of the trip and was a good start to my new adventure. About three hours later the woman next to me attempted to turn on the light above her to read, but couldn’’t do so because it was broken. The broken light led to a conversation that was very relative to my experience in Cordoba. Ana, the woman from Valencia, had recently visited Cordoba in April and recommended many places to visit during my time in Spain. After the plane landed Ana wished me luck on my trip as I wished her a safe trip home. The first thing that Professor Gatti pointed out when we got off the plane and into the airport was the architecture of the ceilings. The ceilings mimicked a modernist pattern and were supposed to represent a tree. I found this to be so exciting because many of the things that I had learned in art history were right before my eyes. I have read and studied about the modernist movement in art, but it was more meaningful when I actually got to see the art in a European country.

Leave a Reply

